Skip to content

Pirates of Social Network

November 1, 2010

So I watched The Social Network the other night, and I kept having flashbacks to Pirates of Silicon Valley. Of course The Social Network was more polished and whatnot, but still they felt similar. Maybe because they are the only non-retarded films about information technology I’ve seen.

I’m a bit lost as to why people are so incredibly hot and bothered for the movie, though. I mean, it’s good and all, but 97% on Tomatoes? I mean, really? One could of course argue that it’s just the new-and-shiny hype that afflicts the internet with every film made by someone generally thought to be a demigod, but still.

Don’t get me wrong; I liked the film, but just not as much as everyone else seems to. The dialogue was smart and quick, which is nice, and I was rather impressed that none of the technobabble made me cringe, since that seems to be the aim of every script writer working in Hollywood on Earth. I’m rather easily seduced by visual candy, so the miniature faking thing they had going on for a bit made me giddy too.

My brain had a process running the whole time, silently shouting “take the money and run, fer fuck sake!” at almost anyone involved in the Facebook inception. But then again I’m obsessed with money.

How true to reality the film is, I don’t know, but the Zuckerberg of the film was begging to be punched in the face with a lawn mower.

From → General

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

